click for larger image

Maria Inês Barbosa da Costa - Piano


Maria Inês Costa was born in Oporto, Portugal in 1994. She has performed in many venues including Clube Literário do Porto, Porto's Salão Nobre do Centro de Cultura e Congressos da Ordem dos Médicos, Ateneu Comercial do Porto, Portuguese Music Museum - Estoril (Lisbon), Amaryllis Fleming Concert Hall (London), Milton Court Concert Hall, St. John’s Hanover Square and Cambridge University (Robinson College). She won the 1st prize in the CCM Competition in 2008, 2009 and 2011, the Merit prize of the Ministry of Education and the Dra. Manuela Carvalho prize in 2012, a one-year award for the 2014-15 academic year at the Royal College of Music and a Guildhall School Scholarship for the academic year of 2016-17.

Inês is also interested in conducting and received an invitation for the last EUYO’s Summer Tours (European Union Youth Orchestra), playing both Piano and Celesta in Shostakovich’s Symphony no. 5 with Xian Zhang as a conductor at the Berlin Konzerthaus and in Wiesbaden and Philip Glass’s Double Concerto for Two Pianos and Orchestra with Vasily Petrenko in Grafenegg. Inês has worked with various orchestras and conductors, such as Luís Machado, Hugo Ribeiro, Francisco Ribeiro, José Borges, Jaroslav Mikus, Kevin Wauldron, Paulo Silva, Joam Trillo, Emílio de César, Eduardo Rocha, Ernst Schelle, Martin André, David Hill, Jac van Steen and Peter Stark. Inês has also worked with many renowned pianists such as José Alexandre Reis, Constantin Sandu, Joel Bello Soares, Jimmy Lim, Constantin Ionescu-Vovu, Luís Pipa, Jorge Moyano, António Rosado, Manuela Gouveia, Artur Pizarro, Boris Berman and Paul Badura-Skoda. Besides this, she also had chamber music coaching with Petia Samardjieva, Nigel Clayton, John Blakely and Peter Schumayer and studied harpsichord with Mafalda Nejmeddine and Robert Woolley, fortepiano with Geoffrey Govier and violin with José Ricardo Reis.

Inês Costa has recently graduated with a Bachelor of Music (Hons) Degree at the Royal College of Music (London), studying with Professor Gordon Fergus-Thompson. She is now continuing her Master Studies in Piano Performance at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama, studying with Martin Roscoe and Charles Owen.

To read the interview:

submission October 2016

J. S. Bach - Partita no. 6 in E minor: Sarabande